Our Committees 2017-05-30T17:44:33+00:00

Kent Downtown Partnership Executive Board of Directors

Randall Smith, All Pro Maintenance
President Elect
Dana Neuts,Virtually Yourz/ILoveKent.net

Rick Roland, Roland & Company, CPA

Legal Counsel
Greg Haffner, Curran Law Firm (beginning January 2017)

Judy Woods, Friend of KDP

Past Presidents
Greg Haffner, Curran Law Firm
Suzanne Cameron, Around the Clock, Inc. CRMC
Mike Hanis, Hanis Irvine Prothero, PLLC
Mike Miller, HomeStreet Bank, EDC
Garry Stewart, The Doorman Service

Kent Downtown Partnership Board of Directors

Byron Ford, Green River College, Instructional Support

& Operations Director

Frankie June, resident

Alice Marshall, Running Stitch Fabrics

Dana Neuts, Virtually Yourz/ILoveKent.net

Jeff Middleton, Exhibition Automotive CARSTAR

Patty Sikora, Kent Lions

Fred Satterstrom, resident

Frank Carter, Sound Pest Management

Elizabeth Scharnhorst, resident

Randall Smith, All Pro Building Maintenance

Garry Stewart, The Doorman Service Co.

Ben Wolters/Kurt Hanson, City of Kent, Economic & Community Development

Caitlin Cooper, resident

Toni Troutner, Kent Lutheran Church

Myron Johnson, Farmers Insurance

Ex Officio

Tim Higgins/Ryan Hart, ShoWare Center – Ad Hoc

Andrea Keikkala, Kent Chamber of Commerce – Ad Hoc

Dee Moschel, Lifetime Honorary Member

Kent Downtown Partnership Committees

Annual Dinner and Auction Committee

Chair: Polly Shepherd (Kent Reporter)
Responsible for procurement, ticket sales and staging the annual dinner and auction.

Art Committee

Co-Chair: Christy Caravaglio
Co-Chair: Melissa Travis (Rusty Raven Studio)

Responsible for bringing art to Downtown’s public areas and creating opportunities for artists to display their art in Downtown Kent. The Art Committee helps create shared experiences to develop a sense of community and add more for people to discover downtown.

Business and Occupation Tax Committee

Chair: Greg Haffner (Curran Law Firm)
Responsible for educating the businesses and bringing in B&O Tax contributors.

Clean-Up Day Committee

Chair: Garry Stewart (The Doorman Service Co.)
Responsible for organizing KDP’s annual Clean-Up Day.

Design Committee

Chair: Suzanne Cameron (Around the Clock, Inc., CRMC)
An inviting atmosphere created through window displays, parking areas, signs, colorful banners, sidewalks, street lights and landscaping all improve the physical image of the downtown as a quality place to shop, work, walk, invest in and live.  Design improvements result in a reinvestment of public and private dollars to downtown.

Economic Development Committee

Co-Chair: Mike Miller (Homestreet Bank)
Co-Chair: Kevin Jussel (Curran Law Firm)
This committee analyzes current market forces to develop long term solutions.  Recruiting new businesses, creatively converting unused space for new uses, and sharpening the competitiveness of the existing downtown merchants are examples of economic development activities.  Additionally, the members of this committee will help existing businesses expand and recruit specific businesses for a better downtown business mix.

Marketing Committee

Acting Chair: Polly Shepherd (Kent Reporter); Overseen by Frankie June
This committee develops creative and interesting ways to promote our downtown.

Membership Committee

Chair: Bernadette Thormahlen (Central Ave Mini Storage); Overseen by Frankie June
Responsible for reaching out to members, staging membership campaigns and helping with recruitment of members.

Promotions Committee

Chair: Frankie June
This committee creates excitement downtown. Street festivals, retail events, and image development campaigns are some of the ways Main Street encourages customer traffic. You will be selling the image and promise of Main Street to all prospects. By marketing the district’s unique characteristics to shoppers, investors, new businesses and visitors, an effective promotion strategy forges a positive image through advertising, retail promotional activity and special events.

Safety & Security Committee

Chair: Garry Stewart (The Doorman Service Co.)
Identifies and resolves all safety and security issues related to the downtown retail and business core.